Life for rent

Play as you read šŸ™‚

(this song randomly popped up in my head)

I have loved it since its release in 2003.

It opens many questions…and the answers as always depend on our perspective. Do we see renting as a sign of instability or freedom? Not belonging anywhere or belonging everywhere? Admitting fear: continuing with the shield or letting it go?

Lately I have noticed how I am one big step closer to accepting the whole self.

Right now is the moment in which I can completely relate to the whole song. This goes hand in hand with what I have been noticing lately: every day I am one big step closer to accepting the whole self.

Life for rent in words (my extra response to the song is in brackets…there was not much to add as you can see):

I haven’t ever really found a place that I call home

I neverĀ stick around quite long enough to make it

I apologise once again I’m not in love

But it’s not as if I mind

that your heart ain’t exactly breaking

*

It’s just a thought, only a thougt

*

But if my life is for rent

And I don’t learn to buy

Well I deserve nothing more than I get

Cos nothing I have is truly mine

*

I always thought that I would love to live by the sea

To travel the world alone

and live more simply

I have no idea what’s happened to that dream

(I have fulfilled it, I have lived it)

Cos there’s really nothing left here to stop me

*

It’s just a thought, only a thought

*

But if my life is for rent

And I don’t learn to buy

Well I deserve nothing more than I get

Cos nothing I have is truly mine

*

While my heart is a shield and I won’t let it down

(I am tempted)

While I am so afraid to fail so I won’t even try

(I slowly feel like trying)

Well how can I say I’m alive

*

If my life is for rent

And I don’t learn to buy

Well I deserve nothing more than I get

Cos nothing I have is truly mine

Cos nothing I have is truly mine

 

(Free)

*

 

 

 

 

Linked to https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/aimless

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share your view :)

